Functions of Defence Estates Organisation

  1. Defence Estates Service is a trustee of defence lands measuring around 17.53 lakh acres, through 37 Defence Estates Offices and 6 ADEO offices located in different parts of the country;
  2. Administration of 62 Cantonment Boards – the institutions of local self – government – in as many Cantonments notified under the Cantonments Act, 1924;
  3. Acquisition, hiring, requisitioning of immovable properties for defence purposes;
  4. Maintenance of  all land records which secure propritory, occupancy, tenancy and other legal rights of Ministry of Defence on defence lands;
  5. Handling of litigation arising out of land acquisition for defence purpose;
  6. Handling of litigation, Suits on ownership of defence land and other land matters;
  7. Exercise of quasi-judicial functions conferred under Special Laws like the Cantonments Act, 1924; Public Premises (Eviction of Unauthorized Occupant) Act, 1971; etc